top of page
aladdin.png

AUDITION INFO-

(Pre-k - 12th Grade)

 

Director:  Sarah Cleveland 

Technical Director: Aaron Cleveland 

Music Director: Jacquie Peterson 

Choreographer: Sara Arnold  

Show Fee = $300

 

AUDITIONS: 

Tuesday, April 9 6:00pm - 9:00pm Auditions 

Thursday, April 11 6:00pm - 9:00pm Make- up auditions & Call Backs 

 

PERFORMANCES: 

June 14 - 23

 

What to Prepare: 

Song: Students should prepare 1-minute of a broadway uptempo or Disney song. Please be ready to sing with your karaoke track from youtube.  Performers are welcome to choose a song directly from the show. 

Monologue: In addition to the 1-minute song, please choose one monologue from the list below to perform for our panel at auditions. Your choice of monologue does NOT mean that is the only part you are interested in, or will be considered for. We are open to non-traditional casting! With that in mind- please choose a monologue that you will have fun preparing and performing! 

Notes for Actors: These Characters are iconic, and larger than life! They tell the story with their voices, facial expressions, and physical movement. We are looking for energetic actors, singers, and dancers who will help tell our story in a LIVELY way!

Monologue options:

Jasmine: Oh, father. Rajah was just playing with him, weren't you Rajah. You were just playing with that overdressed, self-absorbed Prince Achmed, weren't you? Ahem....The law is wrong. Father, I hate being forced into this. If I do marry, I want it to be for love. Try to understand. I've never done a thing on my own. I've never had any real friends...Except you, Rajah. I've never even been outside the palace walls. Maybe I don't want to be a princess.

Aladdin: Genie...I can't, I'm serious. Look, I'm sorry--I really am. But they want to make me sultan--no!, They want to make Prince Ali sultan. Without you, I'm just Aladdin. Because of you! The only reason anyone thinks I'm anything is because of you. What if they find out I'm not really a prince? (Quietly) What if Jasmine finds out? I'll lose her. Genie, I can't keep this up on my own. I can't wish you free.

Jafar: It pains me to see you reduced to this, Jasmine. A beautiful desert bloom such as yourself should be on the arm of the most powerful man in the world. What do you say, my dear? Why, with you as my queen...I'll teach you some respect! Genie, I have decided to make my final wish. I wish for Princess Jasmine to fall desperately in love with me.

Sultan: Jasmine, I'm not going to be around forever, and I just want to make sure you're taken care of, provided for. That's right. Aladdin, You've certainly proven your worth as far as I'm concerned. It's that law that's the problem. Well, am I sultan or am I sultan? From this day forth, the princess shall marry whomever she deems worthy.

Narrator: Ah, Salaam and good evening to you worthy friend. Welcome to Agrabah. City of mystery, of enchantment, and the finest merchandise this side of the river Jordan, I can see that you're only interested in the exceptionally rare. I think then, you would be most rewarded to consider...this. (MAGIC LAMP) Do not be fooled by its commonplace appearance. Like so many things, it is not what is outside, but what is inside that counts.

Genie: Aaaaahhhhh! OY! Ten-thousand years will give ya such a crick in the neck! Whoa! Does it feel good to be outta there! Nice to be back, ladies and gentlemen. Hi, where ya from? What's your name? Aladdin! Hello, Aladdin. Nice to have you on the show. Can we call you 'Al?' Or maybe just 'Din?' Or how ‘bout 'Laddi?' Sounds like 'Here, boy! C'mon, Laddi!'

Iago: I can't believe it. I just don't believe it. We're never gonna get a hold of that stupid lamp! Just forget it. Look at this. Look at this. I'm so upset that I'm molting! Oh, there's a big surprise. That's an incred--I think I'm gonna have a heart attack and die ...and not from surprise! What're we gonna do? We got a big problem here, a big problem.

Rehearsal Schedule:

Please note: Our Children's Ensemble will be dismissed at 7:30pm each rehearsal 

 

WEEK 1 

Tuesday, April 16 6:00pm - 9:00pm First Rehearsal!

Thursday, April 18 6:00pm - 9:00pm

 

WEEK 2

Tuesday, April 23 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, April 25 6:00pm - 9:00pm

 

WEEK 3

Tuesday, April 30 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, May 2 6:00pm - 9:00pm Off- Book Date!

 

WEEK 4

Tuesday, May 7 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, May 9 6:00pm - 9:00pm

 

WEEK 5

Tuesday, May 14 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, May 16 6:00pm - 9:00pm

 

WEEK 6 

Tuesday, May 21 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, May 23 6:00pm - 9:00
 

WEEK 7 

Tuesday, May 28 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, May 30 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Saturday, June 1 10:00am - 4:00pm Super Saturday Rehearsal!

 

WEEK 8 

Tuesday, June 4 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Thursday, June 6 6:00pm - 9:00pm

 

TECH WEEK: 

Monday, June 10 4:00pm - 9:00pm Tech Rehearsal 

Tuesday, June 11 4:00pm - 9:00pm Tech Rehearsal 

Wednesday, June 12  4:00pm - 9:00pm Dress Rehearsal 

Thursday, June 13 4:00pm - 9:00pm Dress Rehearsal 

 

SHOWTIME!

** Tentative Showtimes ** 

 

Friday, June 14 4:00pm - Call Time 

5:30pm - Show #1 

 

Saturday, June 15 2:00pm Call Time 

3:00pm - Show #2

5:30pm - Show #3

 

Sunday, June 16 2:00pm - Call Time 

3:00pm - Show #4 

 

Friday, June 21 4:00pm - Call Time 

5:30pm - Show #5

 

Saturday, June 22 2:00pm Call Time 

3:00pm - Show #6

5:30pm - Show #7

 

Sunday, June 23 2:00pm - Call Time 

3:00pm - Show #8 

5:30pm - Show #9 

bottom of page